RPG Maker VX Ace: To Buy Or Not To Buy?

RPG Maker VX Ace Logo

It’s one of those times of the year when Steam really helps you lose some of your hard-earned money: this time it’s thanks to the Summer Getaway SaleΒ (which ends tomorrow by the way).

This time I haven’t bought many things actually, especially because I bought pretty much everything I was interested in during last year’s Christmas Sale. One thing has caught my attention lately though: RPG Maker VX Ace. It’s one of those things that you think about and you never know if you should buy or not πŸ˜€ I am actually still not sure about what to do, the discount is interesting and I for sure wouldn’t buy it when it goes back to the full price.

Oh, I really don’t know. Does anybody of you have experience with this tool? I don’t even know why I am asking this since I am still my main reader, but it doesn’t hurt trying πŸ˜€

Update:Β I haven’t bought it, because I saw that there is a Lite version available which looks pretty feature-packed too. I might give that a try first.

4 thoughts on “RPG Maker VX Ace: To Buy Or Not To Buy?

  1. I used to play around with the old RPG Makers, as well as the original RPG Maker VX software.

    It’s great fun, teaches you valuable lessons on developing an RPG and is generally really easy to learn. There are also plenty of resources online if you do not want to get down and dirty with the script editor.

    Did you ever try the Lite version? πŸ™‚

    • To be honest, I never had the chance to try the Lite version from the time I posted that πŸ˜€ Also, I see that RPG Maker VX is on sale again on Steam today, that must be some kind of sign πŸ˜€

      • Haha, it is a good bit of kit.

        The only short comings are the relatively shallow pool you start with. By that, I mean you don’t get far without knowing some basic coding, where you can edit the rules of your game.

        Furthermore: this certainly won’t make you good money. You can make some, though.

        From a game enthusiasts point of view, good bit of kit, you can learn a thing or two. Serious developers will go for something like Unity or UDK.

        If there is a demo version, try before you buy! πŸ™‚

      • Thanks for the heads up! Coding is not a problem, I have a M.Sc. in that πŸ™‚ Good to know that it’s not only GUI-based though.

        I will definitely try the demo version. I’ll tell you what, I’ll download it right now.

Leave a Reply

